Tags

, , , ,

This weekend was World Autism Awareness Day, so of course I went out to promote some awareness.  That is if dragging my autistic kids to the mall because I desperately needed new shoes and then letting all the other shoppers watch as they screamed for smoothies at the top of their lungs, rolled around on the floor with their feet in the air, almost lost their fingers trying to wedge the automatic doors closed, bellowed “Pee pee in diaper! Pee pee in diaper!” to the entire sportswear department, and groped the legs of various random strangers could be considered promotion, then yeah, I promoted the hell out of it.  I assure you, everyone in the Nordstrom wing of the mall was very aware of us.  I spread that sort of “awareness” on a daily basis.

I just doubt that anyone is aware that it’s autism.  Mostly because I never tell anyone.

I’m not totally sure why I never tell anybody that my kids have the spectrum disorder that dares not speak its name.  I’m not ashamed of my children and I don’t really care about the opinions of strangers, I think I just don’t have the energy to deal with the awkwardness that follows that sort of a conversation.  It’s like when the cashier at the grocery store asks you how you’re doing and you automatically respond “Fine,” even though it would be more accurate to say, “I’m feeling really depressed and sort of guilty because I just ate an entire box of cookies, but my PMS is seriously killing me and I couldn’t help myself and I think I’m retaining a lot of water.  How are you?”

Sort of makes you cringe a little bit, doesn’t it?  Now imagine the line at Jamba Juice with Michael jumping and flapping, and the clerk says, “Wow, he’s pretty excited for a smoothie, huh?”  I could say, “No, he has autism and his poor little nervous system can’t handle all the excitement, so what you’re seeing is his own brain electrocuting him over and over again.  Also, the blenders are sort of loud and he can’t sort out the sound and it overwhelms him.  Plus he doesn’t know where he is in space and he feels like there are bugs crawling all over his skin, so it’s hard for him to hold still.  And we’ve had to wait almost two minutes for our order and it’s taking every ounce of self control he has not to flip out because he’s so impatient he’s about to have a full blown anxiety attack over it.”  Yeah.  Or I could just nod and smile and agree that he loves smoothies.  Is it really so bad that I chose to take the easy route?

Frankly, I don’t have the energy to deal with that level of social fallout every time I mention to people that my kids behave the way they do because they have autism, so instead I just let them make their own assumptions. When people ask Mikey how old he is and he just stares back instead of answering, they assume he’s shy.  When Eric  starts running in circles and giggling like a maniac, they assume he’s had too much sugar, and when my boys meltdown and start screaming in public, they assume I’m a bad mom who doesn’t know how to discipline her children.

My husband tells me that I need to buy some puzzle piece jewelry because he thinks that if I’m wearing a jigsaw piece necklace everyone we encounter will automatically know that our kids are autistic, instead of just assuming that they’re retarded and/or spoiled brats, like they do now.  I don’t see the point.  I figure that if a person knows what that symbol means, they already know about autism and I don’t need to make them any more aware than they already are.  (Admittedly, if Tiffany & Co. started selling autism jewelry, I might change my mind…I like nice things, so sue me.)

The problem is reaching those people who don’t know about the puzzle piece yet, the ones who have never seen autism, even though they’ve probably witnessed it a hundred times and thought it was something else (like bad parenting). Those are the people we need to make aware, and I’m probably a bad Spectrumville advocate because I let all those “teachable” moments pass, but for some reason I just don’t seem to have it in me.  So in the meantime, I’ll contribute by bringing my children into public.  They’ll continue to shatter decibel levels, ignore boundaries and personal space, and make general spectacles of themselves, and I’ll continue to hope that somebody else (preferable somebody with more energy and tact than me) will come along and explain it better than I do.

I just don't think it will fit me very well.